EE Times Announces Winners of Inaugural EE Times Ace Awards

Technology Icon Gordon Moore Receives 2005 Lifetime Achievement Award and Top Honors Awarded to Electronics Industry-Leading Companies, Products, Engineers and Executives

Mar 10, 2005

CMP Media announced last night the winners of the first-ever EE Times Annual Creativity in Electronics (ACE) Awards at a gala event held at the Embedded Systems Conference San Francisco. The EE Times ACE Awards were created to recognize the people, companies, and products that are making positive contributions and demonstrating leadership in the electronics industry.

"EE Times started this brand-new awards program to recognize and celebrate the people and spirit of innovation in the electronics industry," said Paul Miller, VP/Group Publisher, CMP Media Electronics Group. "Great and revolutionary products come from the hearts of determined, passionate individuals and that pursuit of excellence is what the EE Times ACE Awards are all about. We are truly proud to award the people, companies and products that are driving innovation in the electronics industry."

Winners were selected from among five finalists in each of 14 categories, and from an original list of more than 340 entries. The winners and finalists were selected by a stellar panel of leading industry technologists, educators, and executives.

In addition, EE Times editors awarded a Lifetime Achievement Award to Gordon Moore, Chairman Emeritus and Co-founder of Intel Corporation. "EE Times and the Embedded Systems Conference have had a long-standing reputation for recognizing and celebrating the creators behind the technology," said Moore. "As founder of two of the most important technology companies in U.S. history, I am honored to be among the many great awards recipients recognized at the EE Times ACE Awards for commitments to design innovation and product excellence."

Brian Fuller, EE Times editor-in-chief awarded an Editor's Choice Award to Texas Instruments for its Single Chip Cell Phone Processor.

  The 2005 EE Times ACE Awards Winners are:

   Company of the Year - Large
   Advanced Micro Devices

   Company of the Year -- Small/Medium
   Atheros Communications

   Ultimate Products of the Year - Analogy ICs
   Silicon Laboratories
   C8051F064 Mixed-Signal Microcontroller

   Ultimate Products of the Year - Processors & Memory
   The MathWorks
   Embedded Target for TI C2000 Controllers

   Ultimate Products of the Year - IP&E
   Apogee Power Inc.

   Ultimate Products of the Year - Logic & Programmable Logic
   eASICores Embedded Configurable Logic Cells

   Ultimate Products of the Year - Power
   Texas Instruments
   BQ20Z8X Gas Gauge IC

   Ultimate Products of the Year - RF & Microwave
   Conexant Systems

   Ultimate Products of the Year - Test & Measurement
   TPS2000 4-Channel Portable Scopes

   Design Team of the Year
   IBM Research
   BlueGene/L System Design Team

   Emerging Company of the Year
   Aruba Wireless Networks

   Innovator of the Year
   John Santhoff
   Pulse~LINK, Inc.

   Executive of the Year
   Hector Ruiz
   Advanced Micro Devices

   Most Promising New Technology
   Molecular Imprints, Inc.
   Step and Flash Imprint Lithography

   Editors' Choice Award
   Texas Instruments
   Single Chip Cell Phone Processor

   IEEE Spectrum Technology in the Service of Society Award
   Nesscap Co., Ltd.

   Lifetime Achievement Award
   Gordon E. Moore, PhD
   Chairman Emeritus of the Board
   Intel Corporation

After the awards ceremony, Richard Jeni, an award-winning comedian with an extensive list of live, television, and movie credentials, entertained the crowd of more than 540 guests. The awards event was followed by an after-party for all winners, finalists and guests.

About EE Times ACE Awards

The EE Times ACE Awards were created to recognize the people, companies and products that are leading the industry and making significant contributions -- the real innovators of technology. The 2006 EE Times ACE Awards will be presented on April 6 during an awards gala at the Embedded Systems Conference San Jose.

About EE Times

EE Times ( is the premier technology and business newsweekly serving the information needs of 150,000* engineers and technical managers in North America. Together with EE Times Asia and China editions, EE Times print editions reach more than 200,000** electronics professionals worldwide.

EE Times Online network of Web sites include local language online editions,,,,, and The EE Times Online network also includes specialized online Web sites such as,,, Planet Analog, and, averaging more than six million page views and reaching more than one million unique visitors each month.** CMP Media LLC, headquartered in Manhasset, NY, publishes EE Times and the EE Times Online network of Web sites.

About CMP Media

CMP Media LLC ( is a leading integrated media company providing essential information and marketing services to the entire technology spectrum -- the builders, sellers and users of technology worldwide. Capitalizing on its editorial strength, CMP is uniquely positioned to offer marketers comprehensive, integrated media solutions tailored to meet their individual needs. Its diverse products and services include newspapers, magazines, Internet products, research, direct marketing services, education and training, trade shows and conferences, and custom publishing.

  *Source:  June 2004 BPA Statement
  ** Source:  Publisher's own data

CONTACT: Tim Avila, Group Marketing Director of CMP Media LLC - Electronics Group, +1 415-947-6653, or


CONTACT: Tim Avila, Group Marketing Director of CMP Media LLC
- Electronics Group, +1 415-947-6653, or

Web site:

Web site: