EE Times Announces the Winners of the 4th Annual Awards for Creativity in Electronics (ACE)

Industry Leaders, Breakthrough Technologies and Ultimate Products were honored last night at the ACE Gala, part of ESC Silicon Valley

Apr 16, 2008

TechInsights' EE Times ( last night announced the winners of the fourth annual Awards for Creativity in Electronics (ACE) (, which recognize the electronics engineering industry's most innovative companies and breakthrough technologies. EE Times ACE winners were judged by a panel of industry experts, comprised of the leading voices of academia, industry and Wall Street executives.

The winners were announced last night at the ACE Gala, part of ESC Silicon Valley (, the largest electronic systems design event in North America where the global design engineering community gather to learn, collaborate and celebrate innovations.


  Junko Yoshida, editor-in-chief, EE Times
  "Each year we review and evaluate hundreds of nominations and select those
   products and individuals that most exemplify the innovations of the
   embedded systems industry.  The winners represent the technological
   innovations that EE Times and ESC look to foster each year.  These
   breakthrough technologies and individuals will lead further growth and
   collaboration in the coming years."

  The 2008 ACE Awards Winners are:

Company of the Year -- Small/Medium (Under $750 million in sales) award celebrates the company that exhibits the highest degree of professionalism, staff development and retention, customer focus, technical excellence and profitable growth -- a true leader in the electronics sector.

-- National Instruments

Company of the Year -- Large (Over $750 million in sales) award celebrates the company that exhibits the highest degree of professionalism, staff development and retention, customer focus, technical excellence and profitable growth -- a true leader in the electronics sector.

-- Research In Motion

Design Team of the Year award goes to a group of innovators whose system or IC-level design made a significant contribution to the furtherance of technology and whose project management abilities were creative, efficient and inspiring.

-- PA Semi -- PWRficient dual-core processor (PA6T-1682M)

Executive of the Year award goes to an individual who brought leadership, technological and fiscal vision to a company, organization or company division during a calendar year.

-- Research In Motion -- Mike Lazaridis, President & Co-CEO

Innovator of the Year award goes to an individual who has brought leadership, creativity and out-of-the-box thinking to technology, a product or business.

-- IBM Research -- Dan Edelstein and Satya Nitta

Most Promising New Technology award goes to a compelling electronic component or enabling technology, such as software, that is outstanding in its technical design, potential for market impact and demonstrates leadership in its area.

-- XID Technologies -- Face Synthesis

Start-up of the Year award goes to a venture capital (or pre-IPO financed) start-up (under three years in business) electronics manufacturing (device or system) company that demonstrates excellence in business development and/or technology development processes with the potential to become a technical or market leader in the global electronics industry.

-- Blade Networks Technology

Ultimate Products of the Year awarded to the most significant product introduced in the last 12 months in each of seven categories, as determined by large-scale peer review. Finalists in each category were chosen by qualified readers of EE Times and on a quarterly basis via electronic balloting, from a list of nominees submitted to readers by expert editors with accompanying editorial reviews. The top two ranking products from each category over the past four quarters automatically qualify as finalists. Electronic ballots will be sent to frequent responders to select the winner in each category from the field of finalists.

  -- SiP12510, SiP12511 White LED Drivers (Vishay)

  -- SL3 Series Stack Lamp (DDP)

  -- I25FB and A25FB Flash Disks (Adtron Corp)

  Logic Interface & Programmable Logic
  -- 3ware 9650SE SATA RAID Controller Family (Applied Micro
     Circuits Corp.)

  -- UCD9240 Integrated Power System Controllers (Texas Instruments)

  -- ZL70101 Transceiver Chip (Zarlink)

  -- N6705A DC Power Analyzer (Agilent Technologies)

  Student of the Year
  Guruprasad Madhavan, MS, MBA
  PhD Candidate
  State University of New York (Binghamton)

  Educator of the Year
  Moira Gunn
  Program Director
  University of San Francisco

  Editors Choice
  Carson Page
  Hutton Elementary
  Georgetown, TX

  Lifetime Achievement
  Ray Stata
  Analog Devices

  IEEE Spectrum Technology in the Service of Society

  IEEE Spectrum Emerging Technology Award

  About EE Times ACE Awards

The EE Times ACE Awards honor the innovators who create embedded technology and demonstrate leadership in the global industry. Sponsorship for the EE Times ACE Awards includes Platinum Sponsorship from Avnet (, Silver Sponsorship from Rambus (, Association Media Sponsorship from IEEE Spectrum ( and Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company Limited (TSMC) Ecosystem Sponsorship from Analog Bits ( and Cadence (

About TechInsights (

TechInsights is the daily source of essential business and technical information for the electronics industry's decision makers -- the Creators of Technology -- that define, develop, and bring to market the electronic products that improve our lives. With global market leading brands such as EE Times, Semiconductor Insights, TechOnline, Embedded Systems Conferences and Portelligent, TechInsights is the leading dedicated information and services business serving the worldwide electronics market. For more information, please visit TechInsights is a division of United Business Media (, a global provider of news distribution and specialist information services with a market capitalization of more than $2.5 billion.

   Jessica Devaney or Leslie Denson, Horn Group (on behalf of TechInsights) /

First Call Analyst:
FCMN Contact:

SOURCE: TechInsights

CONTACT: Jessica Devaney,, or Leslie Denson,, both of Horn Group, +1-617-431-1020, for TechInsights

Web site: