EE Times Group Announces Finalists for the Sixth Annual Creativity in Electronics (ACE) Awards; Celebrates Leadership and Innovation in the Global Electronics Industry

2010 Awards Program to Take Place April 27 During ESC Silicon Valley

Apr 14, 2010

EE Times Group, a UBM company and the daily source of essential business and technical information for the electronics industry's decision makers, today announced the finalists for the sixth Annual Creativity in Electronics (ACE) awards. The 2010 EE Times ACE awards celebrate the creators of technology who demonstrate leadership and innovation in the global electronics industry. The ACE Awards ceremony will take place on Tuesday, April 27th at 5:30 PM at the Club Regent Room in the Fairmont, during ESC (Embedded Systems Conference) Silicon Valley.


"The EE Times ACE Awards are the fastest-growing electronics industry recognition event honoring the people and companies behind the technologies that are changing the way we work, live and play," said Paul Miller, CEO of EE Times Group. "In the first five years of this contest, we received nearly 2,500 submissions for consideration in seven categories. We have awarded 37 ACE Awards in the nomination-based categories and 47 ACE Awards for editorial choice and peer-to-peer based Ultimate Products of the Year categories. We congratulate the finalists on their innovations and leadership in the electronics industry."

  Following is the list of 2010 EE Times ACE Award finalists:

  Design Team of the Year:
  --  Advanced Micro Designs (AMD)
  --  Android on MIPS Design Team
  --  IDT Canada
  --  Intel Corporation - Nehalem Family Design Team
  --  Xilinx - Programmable Platforms Development Team

  Innovator of the Year:
  --  Jack Harding, eSilicon Corporation
  --  Dave Ritter, Intersil Corporation
  --  Gret Atwood, Numonyx
  --  Doug Pulley, PicoChip Designs Ltd
  --  Craig Hampel, Rambus

  Executive of the Year:
  --  Doug Grose, Global Foundries
  --  Sehat Sutardja, Marvell Semiconductors
  --  Steve Sanghi, Microchip Technology, Inc.
  --  Carlo Bozotti, STMicroelectronics
  --  Ken Klein, Wind River

  Startup of the Year:
  --  Adesto Technologies
  --  Energy Micro
  --  Lunero Lightening
  --  Open Kernel Labs
  --  RFaxis, Inc.

  Company of the Year:
  --  ARM
  --  Marvell Semiconductor Inc.
  --  Qualcomm
  --  Silicon Labs
  --  Texas Instruments

  Most Promising New Technology:
  --  Hewlett Packard
  --  Nujira
  --  Tabula
  --  Verayo

  Most Promising Renewable Energy Award:
  --  Cymbet
  --  National Semiconductor
  --  PV Powered, Inc.
  --  Solar Roadways

  Following is the list of EE Times ACE award special category winners:

  Editors' Choice
  --  PCBMotor

  Educator of the Year:
  --  Bassam Matar

  Student of the Year:
  --  Kristie DAmbrosio

  2010 EE Times ACE Awards Lifetime Achievement Award Winner:
  --  Pasquale Pistorio, Honorary Chairman, STMicroelectronis

  The IEEE Spectrum Emerging Technology ACE Award:
  --  Google Chrome
  --  IBM/Russian Railways
  --  Pixel Qi Corp.
  --  NanoGaN
  --  Intrinsity

  The IEEE Spectrum Technology in the Service of Society ACE Award:
  --  Google Chrome
  --  IBM/Russian Railways
  --  Pixel Qi Corp.
  --  NanoGaN
  --  Intrinsity

The 2010 EE Times ACE judges are comprised of the leading voices in academia, industry and Wall Street executives, including:

  --  Gordon Bell, Senior Researcher, Microsoft Research
  --  Lucio Lanza, Managing Director, Lanzatech Ventures
  --  Jeff Bier, President and Co-Founder, Berkeley Design Technology, Inc.
  --  John Mashey, Consultant, Techviser
  --  Larry Boucher, President and CEO, Alacritech
  --  Dennis Monticello, Chief Technologist and Fellow, National
  --  Martin Reynolds, Dataquest
  --  Erach Desai, Consultant, DESAIsive
  --  John East, President and CEO, Actel Corporation
  --  Gene A. Frantz, Principal Fellow, Texas Instruments, Inc.
  --  George M. Scalise, President, Semiconductor Industry Association
  --  William P. Tai, General Partner, Charles River Ventures
  --  Nick Tredennick, Editor, Gilder Technology Report

A panel of EE Times editors narrowed down the entries to five finalists in each category, based on the criteria set forth in an online submission form. Winners were determined from among the finalists by a panel of independent judges. Judging took place from February 8, 2010 through February 18, 2010.

The ACE Awards ( are generously sponsored by silver sponsors XILINX and AVNET as well as association sponsor, IEEE Spectrum.

To purchase tickets to attend the EE Times ACE Awards, go to: Tickets are $99.00 per person.

About EE Times Group (

EE Times Group, a division of United Business Media [LON:UBM], is the global leader in media and marketing services for the electronics industry. We deliver results for the key influencers and decision makers involved in the design, development and commercialization of technology through our market leading brands. More than 1.1 million engineering professionals engage with the EE Times Network - EE Times, TechOnline, DesignLines, and - across the globe. The technology community comes to our market leading events to share, learn, discuss, and advance the critical issues and challenges facing the electronics industry. As well, EE Times Group provides end-to-end services ranging from next-generation marketing, integrated media and research.

About United Business Media Limited

UBM (UBM.L) focuses on two principal activities: worldwide information distribution, targeting and monitoring; and, the development and monetisation of B2B communities and markets. UBM's businesses inform markets and serve professional commercial communities -- from doctors to game developers, from journalists to jewelry traders, from farmers to pharmacists -- with integrated events, online, print and business information products. Our 6,500 staff in more than 30 countries are organised into specialist teams that serve these communities, bringing buyers and sellers together, helping them to do business and their markets to work effectively and efficiently. For more information, go to

  For more information on EE Times Group please contact:
  Felicia Hamerman, Group Marketing Director
  T: 516.562.5652, E:

First Call Analyst:
FCMN Contact:

PRN Photo Desk,

SOURCE: EE Times Group

CONTACT: Felicia Hamerman, Group Marketing Director, +1-516-562-5652,, for EE Times Group

Web Site: