UBM Tech's EE Times and EDN Announce the 2013 ACE Awards Winners

Recognizes the People, Companies & Technologies that Have Made a Difference in the Electronics Industry

Apr 24, 2013

SAN FRANCISCO, April 24, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- Tuesday night at an awards ceremony, EE Times and EDN, which serves design engineers and the electronics industry with essential business and technical information, announced the winners of the 2013 ACE (Annual Creativity in Electronics) Awards.  The awards program honors the people and companies behind the technologies and products that are changing our world.   The awards ceremony took place during DESIGN West, the annual technical conference and expo for electronics design engineers, entrepreneurs, and technology professionals who create products with electronic content.

(Logo: http://photos.prnewswire.com/prnh/20130424/SF00758LOGO)

"The ACE Awards winners provide a special kind of inspiration to the electronics community," said Alexander Wolfe, Brand Director, EE Times, UBM Tech. "Our recognition of leadership in design, innovation, technology, and entrepreneurship are a token of our appreciation."

"The creativity and innovation behind the technologies and products that our engineering community develop are affecting our lives in ways we are only beginning to understand," said Patrick Mannion, Brand Director, EDN, UBM Tech.  "Congratulations to this year's award winners -- the best of the best."

Following are the 2013 ACE Awards winners:


Haruo Matsuno, President and CEO
Advantest Corporation

* DESIGN TEAM OF THE YEAR presented by Mouser Electronics
MAX2173 Design Team
Maxim Integrated

Yogesh Ramadass
Texas Instruments



* Analog ICs
Analog Devices Inc.
Analog Devices AD9671 octal ultrasound AFE with JESD204B Interface

* Development Kits/Evaluation Boards
Texas Instruments
Bluetooth low energy SensorTag kit

* LEDs & Lighting
Philips LumiLeds
Luxeon Z LEDs

* Logic/Interface Memory
Micron Technology
Hybrid Memory Cube

* Passives, Interconnects and Electromechanical
Vishay Intertechnology
LPS1100 Thick Film Resistor

* Power
Linear Technology

* Processors (FPGAs, MCUs, Microprocessors)
Xilinx, Inc.
Virtex-7 H580T   3D FPGA

* Sensors
ams AG
AS3935 - Frankling Lightning Sensor

* Software
Xilinx, Inc.
Vivado Design Suite

* Test & Measurement Systems and Boards
Agilent Technologies
Infiniium 90000 Q-Series Oscilloscope

* Wireless/RF
Broadcom Corporation
Broadcom 5G Wi-Fi combo chip for smartphones and tablets BCM4335

* Jim Williams Contributor of the Year presented by Linear Technology
Steve Hageman, Owner and Operator, AnalogHome

* Lifetime Achievement Award
Kathryn Kranen, President & CEO, Jasper Design Automation

* IEEE Spectrum Awards Winners

* IEEE Spectrum Technology in the Service of Society
Raspberry Pi

* IEEE Spectrum Emerging Technology Award
Ion Torrent

A panel of EE Times and EDN editors as well as independent judges, including William Tai, General Partner, Charles River Ventures; Erach Desai,
 Financial Advisor, 
Merrill Lynch Wealth Management; Gene Frantz, 
Rice University; Nick Tredennick,
Gilder Technology Report; Gordon Bell,
 Senior Researcher,
 Microsoft Research; John Mashey,
TechViser; Dennis Monticelli, 
Chief Technologist and Fellow, 
Texas Instruments; Lucio Lanza, 
Managing Director, LanzaTech Ventures; George M. Scalise,
 Semiconductor Industry Association; chose the finalists and winners. 

A panel of EE Times and EDN editors also selected winners in additional categories, which include Jim Williams Contributor of the Year, sponsored by Linear Technology, and the Lifetime Achievement Award.  IEEE, through their own judging process, will announce the winners for IEEE Spectrum Technology in the Service of Society and IEEE Spectrum Emerging Technology Award at the awards ceremony in April.

For more information on the awards program visit http://ubm-ace.com/.

The EE Times and EDN ACE Awards are generously sponsored by Executive Platinum sponsor Avnet Electronics Marketing, Category sponsors Linear Technology and Mouser Electronics, and Association media sponsor IEEE Spectrum.

About UBM Tech

UBM Tech is a global media business that provides information, events, training, data services, and marketing solutions for the technology industry.  Its media brands and information services inform and inspire decision makers across the entire technology market — engineers and design professionals, software and game developers, solutions providers and integrators, networking and communications executives, and business technology professionals.  UBM Tech's industry-leading media brands include EE Times, Interop, Black Hat, InformationWeek, Game Developer Conference, CRN, and DesignCon. The company's information products include research, education, training, and data services that accelerate decision making for technology buyers.  UBM Tech also offers a full range of marketing services based on its content and technology market expertise, including custom events, content marketing solutions, community development and demand generation programs. UBM Tech is a part of UBM (UBM.L), a global provider of media and information services with a market capitalization of more than $2.5 billion.

Available Topic Expert(s): For information on the listed expert(s), click appropriate link.

Alexander Wolfe


Patrick Mannion


For more information on UBM Tech please contact:
Felicia Hamerman, Vice President, Marketing, Electronics
T: 516.562.5652, E: felicia.hamerman@ubm.com