CMP Technology Announces Winners of the 17th Annual Jolt Product Excellence & Productivity Awards

Industry Leaders and Newcomers Recognized for Innovation and Technological Excellence

Mar 22, 2007

The editors of Dr. Dobb's Journal announced the winners of the 17th annual Jolt Product Excellence and Productivity Awards during the Awards Ceremony at CMP Technology's Software Development West 2007 Conference and Expo, held at the Santa Clara Convention Center in Santa Clara, CA.

"This year was an exceptionally exciting year for our judges, since there were so many strong contenders in every category," said Rosalyn Lum, conference and events manager for Dr. Dobb's Events. "The winners reflect that innovation is still alive: It was especially satisfying to see leaders still leading the way and at the same time, newcomers changing how developers work by giving them great new products that reflect the changing software development landscape."

  Here is a complete list of the 17th Annual Jolt Award Winners:

  1. Books General
  Jolt Winner:
     Agile Software Development: The Cooperative Game by Alistair Cockburn
  Productivity Winners:
     Catastrophe Disentanglement by E. M. Bennatan (Addison-Wesley)
     Practices of an Agile Developer by Venkat Subramaniam and Andy Hunt
     (Pragmatic Bookshelf)
     Software Estimation: Demystifying the Black Art by Steve McConnell
     (Microsoft Press)

  2. Books Technical
  Jolt Winner:
     Head First Object-Oriented Analysis & Design by Brett McLaughlin, Gary
     Pollice, and David West (O'Reilly)
  Productivity Winners:
     Code Quality by Diomidis Spinellis (Addison-Wesley)
     Refactoring Databases by Scott W. Ambler and Pramod J. Sadalage
     CSS: The Missing Manual by David Sawyer McFarland (O'Reilly)

  3. Change and Configuration Management
  Jolt Winner:
     AccuRev 4.5 with AccuWorkflow (AccuRev)
  Productivity Winners:
     AnthillPro3 (Urbancode)
     Perforce SCM (Perforce)
     Team Foundation Server (Microsoft)

  4. Collaboration Tools
  Jolt Winner:
     Confluence (Atlassian Software Systems)
  Productivity Winners:
     Adobe Acrobat Connect Professional (Adobe Systems)
     NetBeans IDE (Sun Microsystems)
     TeamCity (JetBrains)

  5. Database Engines and Data Tools
  Jolt Winner:
     Visual Studio 2005 Team Edition for Database Professionals (Microsoft)
  Productivity Winners:
     Coral8 Engine (Coral8)
     Dbdeploy (ThoughtWorks)
     SQL Refactor (Red Gate Software)

  6. Design and Modeling Tools
  Jolt Winner:
     stpBA Storyboarding for Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 Team System
  Productivity Winners:
     Corticon Business Rules Modeling Studio (Corticon)
     MagicDraw UML (No Magic)
     Stylus Studio 2007 XML Enterprise Suite (DataDirect Technologies)

  7. Development Environments
  Jolt Winner:
     NetBeans IDE (Sun Microsystems)
  Productivity Winners:
     IntelliJ IDEA (JetBrains)
     IronPython (Microsoft)
     Wolfram Workbench (Wolfram Research)

  8. Enterprise Tools
  Jolt Winner:
     Cape Clear ESB Platform (Cape Clear Software)
  Productivity Winners:
     Liferay Portal (Liferay
     Appistry EAF (Appistry)
     Pentaho Open BI Suite (Pentaho)

  9. Libraries, Frameworks and Components
  Jolt Winner:
     NetAdvantage for .NET (Infragistics)
  Productivity Winners:
     JViews (ILOG)
     .NET Framework 3.0 (Microsoft)
     Intel Threading Building Blocks (Intel)

  10. Mobile Development Tools
  Jolt Winner:
     Carbide .c++ Professional Edition (Nokia)
  Productivity Winners:
     Crossfire (AppForge)
     NetBeans Mobility Pack and Sun Java Wireless Tookit (Sun Microsystems)
     Qtopia (Trolltech)

  11. Project Management
  Jolt Winner:
     Rally Enterprise (Rally Software)
  Productivity Winners:
     6th Sense Analytics (6th Sense Analytics)
     Teamwork (Open Lab)
     V1: Agile Enterprise (VersionOne)

  12. Security
  Jolt Winner:
     AppScan (Watchfire)
  Productivity Winners:
     DevInspect (SPI Dynamics)
     Fortify Source Code Analysis (Fortify)
     Metasploit Framework (Metasploit)

  13. Testing
  Jolt Winner:
     AgitarOne (Agitar Software)
  Productivity Winners:
     Mindreef SOAPscope (Mindreef)
     Parasoft SOAtest (Parasoft)
     TestComplete (AutomatedQA)

  14. Bug and Defect Tracking
  Jolt Winner:
     TestTrack Studio (Seapine Software)
  Productivity Winners:
     JIRA (Atlassian Software Systems)
     OnTime 2007 (Axosoft)
     Software Planner Professional (Pragmatic Software)

  15. Utilities
  Jolt Winner:
     VMware Lab Manager (VMware)
  Productivity Winners:
     Adobe Captivate 2 (Adobe)
     ElectricCommander (Electric Cloud)
     Textmate (MacroMates)

  16. Web Development
  Jolt Winner:
     Adobe Flex 2 (Adobe Systems)
  Productivity Winners:
     IntelliJ IDEA (JetBrains)
     Mindreef SOAPscope Server (Mindreef)
     NetBeans Visual Web Pack 5.5 (Sun Microsystems)

  17. Websites and Developer Networks
  Jolt Winner:
     Sun Developer Network (Sun Microsystems)
  Productivity Winners:
     CM Crossroads (CMC Media) (Koders)
     Krugle (Krugle)

  IBM developerWorks

  Complete Jolt Awards details are available at

  About Dr. Dobb's

Dr. Dobb's is CMP Technology's leading brand serving the worldwide software development community. Offering a full suite of products, including the award-winning Dr. Dobb's Journal, Dr. Dobb's Events ( and Dr. Dobb's Portal (, Dr. Dobb's delivers the largest targeted audience and actionable marketing campaigns to vendors in the industry.

About CMP Technology (

CMP Technology is a marketing solutions company serving the technology industry. Through its market-leading portfolio of trusted information brands, CMP has earned the confidence of more technology professionals than any other media company. As a result, CMP is the premier provider of access, insight and actionable programs designed to connect sellers and buyers in ways that yield superior return on investment. CMP Technology is a subsidiary of United Business Media (, a global provider of news distribution and specialist information services with a market capitalization of more than $3 billion.

  Contact: Jenny Searles
           Marketing Manager
           Dr. Dobb's Events
           (415) 947-6162

SOURCE: CMP Technology

CONTACT: Jenny Searles, Marketing Manager of Dr. Dobb's Events, +1-415-
947-6162, or

Web site: